Effective since 1987
bans people who are HIV-positive from entering the U.S. after Congress added AIDS to the list of "dangerous, contagious diseases for excluding persons from the United States".

Only under strict circumstances can people apply for a waiver.

In 1993, the heinous HIV travel and immigration ban was codified into law as part of the NIH reauthorization (National Institutes of Health Revitalization Act of 1993). The amendment added HIV to the list of “communicable diseases for excluding people from the United States”.

President Clinton signed the bill, making the policy law.

President Obama, on Oct 30th, 2009, signed to renew the Ryan White Care Act and officially announced that the order to remove HIV Travel and Immigration Ban from the Rules in HHS will be issued on Monday. After a 60 days waiting period, the orders will be effective.

Out4Immigration is very happy that there is now one less burden for the LGBT Community as well as the HIV+ community to travel and immigrate to the United States of America.

Other countries besides the USA with an HIV ban:

  • Armenia
  • Brunei
  • China
  • Iraq
  • Libya
  • Moldovia
  • Oman
  • Qatar
  • Russia
  • Saudi Arabia
  • South Korea
  • Sudan

Read more on the HIV exclusion here!


In 2007, legislation was introduced that would remove the HIV ban from the INA (Immigration & Nationality Act). H.R.3337 (introduced by Congresswoman Barbara Lee on August 2) and S.2486 (introduced by Senator John Kerry on December 14).

As of March 12, 2008, H.R.3337 has 40 cosponsors and
S.2486 has 3 cosponsors as of January 22, 2008.

Both bills were added into PEPFAR (The President's Emergency Plan for AIDS Relief) and signed into law by President Bush on July 30th, 2008. That removes the HIV Travel and Immigration Ban legislatively, however, the Department of Health and Human Services still must review the repeal and issue an order to remove the HIV ban completely from its own orders.

Creative Commons License
United by Love, Divided by Law by Out4immigration is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License.